Freshman yr

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
B

bluefire185

I'm a freshman at a good university, and I want to go to a medical school. It looks like I'm ending my first year with GPA of ~3.66 (3.57 last semester and possibly 3.74 this semester with very high As in all my classes but chemistry). While my overall GPA is pretty good for freshman year, my BCMP is much much lower: 3.47. How bad is this?

Also, another question: I got a B+ in chemistry last semester, and I THINK I'm going to get a B this semester. How will medical schools view the downtrend in chemistry grades?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a freshman at a good university, and I want to go to a medical school. It looks like I'm ending my first year with GPA of ~3.66 (3.57 last semester and possibly 3.74 this semester with very high As in all my classes but chemistry). While my overall GPA is pretty good for freshman year, my BCMP is much much lower: 3.47. How bad is this?

Also, another question: I got a B+ in chemistry last semester, and I THINK I'm going to get a B this semester. How will medical schools view the downtrend in chemistry grades?

B's are fine, as long as they aren't more numerous than your A's.

I can assure you that no one is ever going to ask you why in the world you got a B in Chem II and a B+ in Chem I.

Your BCMP is not low at all. However, as in everything regarding admissions, higher is always better, so just focus on increasing your gpa as much as you can and on studying for the MCAT (practice, practice, practice) when the time comes.

If you bring your science grades up in sophmore,junior,senior years they won't care about a slight downstep in gen chem I to II. They tend to look at the OVERALL trend in your transcript and final GPA's rather than specific course grades.:luck: :)

Members don't see this ad :)