SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

From australia to USA?

Discussion in 'International Dental' started by Soroushk19, Jun 14, 2008.

1. Soroushk19

Jun 14, 2008
    Im a dentistry student from Melbourne, Australia and was considering moving to america after graduation.

in Australia dentistry is an undergraduate 5 year course and the degree provides us with the ability to practice dentistry in Australia and the UK however im unsure as to whether it would allow us to do so in the USA... i have already noticed that some American students go to 'pre-dent' school before dentistry and it all seems a bit confusing.

for this reason i was wondering if anyone could specify any details on whether an Australian dentist can move to and work in America as well? or are there extra requirements that may be needed aside from an external exam (eg. more training since you guys seem to be going to university much longer)?

Please explain. Thnx :p
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. ldsmbhc

ldsmbhc 2+ Year Member

Dec 30, 2006
    Because my wife is from Australia, I had my pre-professional advisor find out the requirements. He received an email from "the highest authority" telling him in essence that you have to go through dental school again if you want to practice in the states. This was three or four years ago so things might have changed since then (someone speak up if they have). I can contact the advisor that I was working with to find out which person he was talking with. Let me know.
  4. NileBDS

NileBDS SDNator Moderator Emeritus 7+ Year Member

Jan 9, 2006
    You'll find all the answers you need on the International Dental threads.

But yeah ... basically you need to take NBDE (national boards) I and II, evaluate your transcripts, a bunch of other stuff and go back to school for 2-3 years and graduate with a DMD/DDS regardless of what your school calls its degree.