From EM to Pain? is it possible

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

painfan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody,
I am a board certified EM physician, very interested in a pain fellowship.
Is this even possible?
Are there programs out there who take residents from non tradition pain related residencies?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everybody,
I am a board certified EM physician, very interested in a pain fellowship.
Is this even possible?
Are there programs out there who take residents from non tradition pain related residencies?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

Painfan: Yes, its possible.

Last edited:
why would you want to?.....with reimbursements Pain is getting killed and ER medicine is protected by state laws so that the underserved get treated. In Florida ER docs are reimbursed by private insurance around 260% of Medicare by state law......although there are alot of Medicaid patients and i dont know what they pay. And you dont need to be contracted with any insurance companies so you should get paid usual and customary or 260%.

Members don't see this ad :)
I agree..why the hell would you want to go into pain?!

What's with the recent increase in random people wanting to do pain from other specialties? Neuro-radiology one day, ER the next.

Any pathologist want a stab at it?

And besides, you're already seeing pain patients in the ER. Just refill their Percocet and tell them to go see "pain management".

Wow, don't beat the guy down simply because he's ER.

Yes, you can. ACGME certification of a program includes the stipulation that they consider any candidate who has completed a certified residency. That doesn't mean they will accept them, as most tend to be anesthesia dominated.

Non-ACGME programs can take anyone they want.