From Law School to Medical School with Partial Completion of Prerequisites

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gb630

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear Community Members,

I have read a number of conversations about the relative merits of the prospective options for career-changers and others transitioning from nonscientific academic backgrounds. After studying the discussion threads throughout this forum, however, I was unable to locate counsel that pertained to my precise situation.

I'm about to begin my third-year of law school. Not unmindful of its limited influence, I offer that I matriculated to program ranked in the top 15 and expect to graduate with honors. My undergraduate experience began at junior college and I later majored in a social science at my local university. I graduated with a 4.000/4.000 GPA and completed the following science and mathematics courses: one semester of inorganic chemistry with lab, one semester of biology with lab, two semesters of calculus physics* with labs, two semesters of calculus*, statistics, and econometrics. (Courses marked with an asterisk were completed at junior college.)

Given the awkward combination of my partial completion of the medical school prerequisites coupled with my standing as a law student, how do you recommend that I proceed with my transition to medical school?

Thank you in advance for your consideration as well as your advice.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
There are others on the site who have more experience, but I'd suggest researching school that you'd like to attend and determining exactly which prerequisites you would have to complete before matriculation. The MSAR has information on which schools will accept the courses that you completed at a junior college. Also, remove your name from the original post to preserve some anonymity on this site.