sps27

5+ Year Member
Sep 1, 2012
Was wondering if those who have traveled the road before would weigh in with their advise. And I write this with some trepidation off course.....

1) Have a bachelors and MS in Mech Engg background.
2) I've taken A&P 1 & 2, Microbio, Intro to A&P, Gen Bio 1, Orgo Chem 1.
3) I plan to take Gen Bio 2, Orgo Chem 2, Biochem and Genetics in 2014.
4) MS Mech Engg GPA is 3.3.
5) I've been working for the most of my career after MS in different corporations and it is mainly through them that I have volunteered in non profits. I also volunteered in a shock and trauma center in the city Med hospital for a few months earlier this year. I plan to continue volunteering next year after MCAT in Jan. I also plan to shadow a doctor in a clinic after MCAT.
6) I have no clinical experience or research lab experience. I've applied for part time research lab technician positions in the past few months but no luck so far.

Through some well meaning friends, I had a chance interview with an admissions counselor in the med school in my city. I told him my story. It is on his advise that I am taking these courses. I meet him regularly and update him on my status. He has mentioned that my engg background will help as they like to keep a diverse student body.

And now to the question. Will ADCOMS look at my file with mostly engg based courses, no lab experience, volunteer experience mostly in a non clinical setup and little so far in a clinical setup, no president of any club etc., and dish it aside totally. If I get a decent MCAT 30+, do I stand a chance? Thought I'd ask. I've read stats of students in this forum and by golly, mine is nothing close to what some folks have.......so hope I am not on a fools errand or something......

Jul 29, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical