Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

From Premed to PA

Discussion in 'Clinicians [ RN / NP / PA ]' started by medical22, Nov 13, 2002.

1. medical22

medical22 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Did you change your mind about not going to med school and instead PA program? What was the reason for your switch? Not getting accepted into med school?, etc. What are the advantages and disadvantages to this? At the interview, if you are asked why PA and not med school, what would you say? You have to make them think that PA is your first choice, right?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. AritonM

AritonM Junior Member

Like most PA students, I was considering med school first. Problem is I majored in computer science in college. Now I have to go back and take my PA requirements and then the 2 years of PA program. This is a better option to me then 3 years of pre med. And then 4 years of Med school and then 2 to 3 years of residency working 80 hours to make 32,000 dollars a year. By then I'd be in my 5th year of PA practice making a solid amount of money with alot more hair on my head.

4. Aggiemaj

Aggiemaj Member
    10+ Year Member

I applied to med school last year and did not get in, so I knew I would retake the MCAT and reapply for the 2003 entering year. After I found out that I didn't get in, my husband said he thought it would be a good time to have a child because I would have time to really bond with the baby before med school started next year. As I've progressed in the pregnancy, I feel that my priorities are changing - I always knew that family would be a priority, but the realization of how med school vs. family would work has been a constant thought in my mind. So, after I sent in my med school application this year, I also submitted my PA school application.