From premed to PA

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by medical22, Nov 13, 2002.

1. medical22

medical22 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Did you change your mind about not going to med school and instead PA program? What was the reason for your switch? Not getting accepted into med school?, etc. What are the advantages and disadvantages to this? At the interview, if you are asked why PA and not med school, what would you say? You have to make them think that PA is your first choice, right?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. PAstudent

PAstudent New Member

I'm a physician assistant student who originally wavered between medical school and PA school. (I wish I had done a pre-med major, because I changed my mind back to wanting med school and now it'll take me an extra two years!) All I can tell you is this: if you go to PA school, go because you know you want to be a PA. There are differences between the two professions, and people who become PAs usually do so for specific reasons (i.e., providing low-cost healthcare, serving the underserved, more patient contact, etc). Don't go just because you didn't get into med school, if that ends up being the case. PA program admissions faculty want to serve the PA profession itself, so they aim to admit students who will do the same. PA training is demanding in its own right and should not be considered an easy way out of med school... even though it is shorter.
    If you apply to PA programs, tell them what it is about the PA profession that appeals to you. For me, it was (is) the opportunity to improve the lives of others without taking half of my life to begin doing so. It's also because I can provide healthcare without seeming like I'm in it for the prestige or the high income associated with being a physician.