From Wake Forest to UCSF

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surfdevl02

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So today was pretty weird...I got that damn thing from Wake Forest today telling me that i'm in the second pool to interview and so i've been pretty bummed all day today about that. BUT, I came home today to a big surprise! I hadn't checked the UCSF status page in a while so i decided to check it today and to my surprise, i was sent a secondary. The thing is, it's VERY unexpected. I'm an out of state student (from SC), Overall GPA: 3.5 (from duke) , science GPA: 3.3, and 28S MCAT. I've been reading that UC schools are notoriously bad about getting secondaries out too and that's another thing....my AMCAS wasn't received by them until 9/18 and my application was complete 10/3 so i guess a secondary after nearly 3 weeks is pretty quick for them. I can't figure this out for the life of me...maybe my application accidently fell into the 'send secondary' pile..haha.....so i guess i wanted to post this to give you guys out there hope that are still waiting on UCSF secondary cause god knows, my stats are waaaaay below their avg. I guess it really isn't all about the numbers, at least to this point...Sorry, this really made my day after hearing the disappointing news from Wake.

Surfdevl02

Members don't see this ad.

I'm really happy for you, but part of me is envious.

First, its really hard for us California residents to get spots in our own states' med schools, and it seems like you found a way to get your foot in the door, eventhough you're not from Cali. UCSF and UCLA do accept out-of-states though. More power to you, but I still am kinda envious;)