SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

frustrated....orthopedics research

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by bigman43, Apr 26, 2007.

1. bigman43

bigman43 Banned Banned 7+ Year Member

Apr 13, 2007
    alright so I know one of the unspoken requirements of getting into med school is to do research.

I am really really passionnate about orthopedics, so I really want to research in orhopedics. (really really really)

i live in new york, so there are many opportunities here, however, I dont know how to do go about asking around for opportunities. Does anyone get what i mean? If I was a doctor conducting cutting edge research in medicine, why the hell would I want the help of some lowlife undergrad?

any advice?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. AnEyeLikeMars

AnEyeLikeMars Member 7+ Year Member

Dec 2, 2005
    Carrboro, NC
    1) there's always scut work to do
    2) it's free labor

Senior faculty might not have the time for you, but a lot of time junior faculty members have new grants and a lot of good ideas. Sometimes they just need another mind/pair of hands to pursue a certain project.

However, good mentoring does take time so you need to find someone willing. Send some emails. Just remember that they all got their start where you are right now, and that a lot of people actually like teaching. You'll find something. Good luck

4. Wahoos

Wahoos Member SDN Advisor 7+ Year Member

Mar 22, 2005