Full Time job vs ECs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

j91200920092009

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know there are threads about people letting their grades suffer, due to working; however, I'm having trouble finding info on it causing your ECs to suffer. I just wanted to get some opinions.
Some background info. I have been working at my current job since 2006, full time since 2009 (about 40-50 hrs a week.) I have steadily moved up in position at the company, recently becoming a manager. I've worked full time all 4 years while getting my bachelors(Business Admin) My grades are average ish (3.7).

My question is should I go to part time in order to fit volunteering into my schedule? On one hand, I know admissions likes to see involvement with the community (volunteering) , while on the other they like to see commitment and leadership( which could be showed with my work experience).

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Thank You

Members don't see this ad.

Cool major! Healthcare really needs more people who understand the business aspect of it (I am a healthcare administration major).

I think you should, especially if 1) the volunteer activity is medically related 2) you don't have much volunteer experience at this point.

Some volunteering is important. Can you not find time to do volunteering on the weekend? Hospitals often have some weekend volunteering availability (e.g., in the E.D.)...

If you can't fit it in your schedule, yes, I'd say that volunteer hours are more important at this point than continued full-time work.

Members don't see this ad :)
I know there are threads about people letting their grades suffer, due to working; however, I'm having trouble finding info on it causing your ECs to suffer. I just wanted to get some opinions.