Full Time Pre-Vet in Columbus, OH

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DreamDVM

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas about what to do with myself as full-time pre-vet in Columbus, OH.

I've got my bachelors and I decided about six months ago now to apply to vet school. My fiance and I are moving to Columbus because he got a post doctoral research position in a materials science lab at Ohio State University (yup, the same Ohio State University with the vet school).

I'm currently a veterinary technician (not required to be certified in my state) and a staff member at a wildlife clinic. I'm also an organic chemistry tutor and I have a little research background. Obviously, I want to do something to build up my application, but Ohio has pretty strong laws requiring certification of vet techs. I'm not sure what to pursue... research in a lab at OSU, vet assistantship, or just wait tables somewhere and volunteer as many hours as possible. Any ideas?

Thanks so much!
LeAnne

Members don't see this ad.

i think you should do whatever you want to do...what will peak your interest more during the day? if its research go into lab if it's staying close with animals go into vet tech (if possible). If you really want to apply to vet school, DO NOT get a job waiting tables and volunteer outside for extra hrs. IMO that is a waste of time. You can always volunteer after hours if you have a research job or other things that will at least advance you in science.
If you can afford to volunteer for a couple weeks with a lot of hours while your husband works i would look into a really cool volunteer program, maybe visit this thread.
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=679880