SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

funding for year of research

Discussion in 'Ophthalmology: Eye Physicians & Surgeons' started by minterr, Apr 22, 2007.

1. minterr

minterr 5+ Year Member

Apr 15, 2007
    if one is doing a year of research, how much does it matter if one is getting paid by one's PI/school vs a big name fellowship like HHMI/Doris Duke/Research to Prevent Blindness?

Didn't get Doris Duke or HHMI, still waiting for RPB. My PI has offered to pay me if I don't get RPB. However, I've been told that I am a good candidate for ophtho as I am (Step I 253, top 10 school, good grades so far, some awards from school in 1st two years, some ophtho research but no publications). Will residencies look at it oddly if I have a master's degree and more research experience (and hopefully publications, but who can say for sure?), but not been funded by a big name?

If I do a year of research, I want to go to a big name residency (MEEI, Wilmer, UCSF, or somewhere like that). If I apply this year, somehow I don't care as much. Will these top programs wonder why I didn't get a big fellowship?

Thank you all for your help.

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. rubensan

rubensan Senior Member Moderator Emeritus 5+ Year Member

Jan 27, 2005
    Pasadena, CA