Future of Osteopathy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hedwig

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
This morning, I heard an interesting opinion regarding the future of osteopathic medicine and I thought it would spark an interesting debate.

I'm a post-bacc student at NYIT, the school that NYCOM's part of. I was talking to a DO administrator there, told her I'm thinking of going DO, and asked for her impressions of the future of the field.

I found her opinion interesting. She told me that she predicts that by the end of the decade there will be no distinction between MD and DO. As you all know, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is setting up the first ever federal OMM research center at TCOM. In light of this, I was given two scenarios:

1. The NIH will say, "Hey, OMM works great!" in which case all the allopathic schools will integrate it into their curricula; or

2. The NIH will say, "No, OMM doesn't work at all, it's just a placebo, it's about as helpful for neuromusculoskeletal problems as aromatherapy or those massage pads you can buy for $35.00 at The Sharper Image," in which case the osteopathic medical schools will stop teaching it.

Either way, she predicted that the major distinction between MDs and DOs will disappear.

So what do you think? I thought this was really interesting.

What I want to know is, If this indeed happens, will the DO schools still award the DO degree since MDs would, in effect, be doctors of osteopathic medicine as we now know them?

Members don't see this ad.

As long as US allopathic medical schools stay competitive and keep their admission standards high, there will always be filled seats in osteopathic schools, no matter if OMM is scientifically proved beneficial or not.
The cold hard truth.