Gap Year Advice + other Q's

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ACCitra

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN,
Firstly, I know I don't have many posts, but I am a long time reader of the forum and want to note how helpful this forum has been for me just as a reader only. I am a rising sophomore this year and the time has come that I have questions and worries that I hope some of you more knowledgeable members can shed light on.

My Gap Year question: As a student with sub par grades my freshman year, I was wondering when those of you who decided to take a Gap Year actually made the decision? Was it as early as sophomore year or generally later? Is this something I should even be considering this early?

My other question: I attribute my lesser grades to playing an NCAA sport my freshman year, which I decided not to continue this year because of the time commitment. That being said, I don't have many EC's or hours of anything frankly. So my plan going forward this year is to firstly get my grades up. Secondly, get involved with some of the pre-med organizations on campus this year to get my foot in the door to volunteering and possibly shadowing. So my second question is, does this sound like a good idea? Should I being doing more or something different considering I am just beginning this process? Does anybody have anymore specific advice?