1. Visit this thread to beta-test StudySchedule.org. StudySchedule is a free nonprofit site that builds dynamic MCAT study schedules unique for your needs and timeline.
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

Gap year - Medic/Masters??

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by mo.s.n22, Sep 30, 2014.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. mo.s.n22

mo.s.n22

Sep 30, 2014
    Hello fellow future doctors!

GAP YEAR. yet another forum.

I am graduating UG in a few months and would like to do something educational over the year, so my choices are:
    - Become a paramedic (44 SH which involves hundreds of hours in clinical experience, ~$10,000)
    - Get a masters in bioethics (~30SH which has classes Mon-Thurs, ~$25,000)

(I am currently an EMT-B and thoroughly enjoy it - I have learned so much and it's all I do in my free time. It's been my best inight into the medical world.
    On the other hand, many of my peers suggest getting a masters because it's more "fancy" to have on your application + I think bioethics is interesting and applicable to the profession we are entering).

They both start/end around the same time, and I plan on doing other things on the side (working as an EMT-B and research).

It would greatly help to hear your input. Especially if you are in EMS/med student.
    ;)

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. cactus8910

cactus8910

Jul 8, 2014
    MDApps:
    I was an EMT-B for a while and considered pursuing paramedic status but ultimately I decided that it didn't make sense to put in all that time for training and then go to medical school, without a lot if time actually as a medic.
    I'd go for the masters if it's something you're really interested in.