Gay students accepted?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pvtbrent

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello: This is my first time posting on these boards in a long while, but I do have a question for some of you who might want to respond either publicly or privately via email to me. I am gay, and I know I have read the messages on here about "being true" to yourself, yada, yada...Do you think it is a good idea to be open about this in an essay/interview for med school? And in case you are wondering, IT DOES relate to how I came to want to be a doctor in the first place...

To come out, or not come out (at least to the admissions committee)...that is the question. :)

Members don't see this ad.

First of all, I am not gay. Should I go out of my way to express that in an essay or interview? If it is your choice of lifestyle and you are comfortable with it, why should have to explain yourself? Are you going to tell all of your patients the first time that you meet them that you are gay? Just do what makes you fell comfortable.

Dear pvtbrent,

If your homosexuality has something to do with your interest in medicine, then I don't see why it is not alright for you to "come out", so to speak, so long as you keep your message focused on medicine, and not an exegesis on your homosexuality. When you are interviewing, you don't have to say anything regarding your sexuality unless something about it comes up, in a natural fashion. In my experience, mentioning my sexuality during medical school interviews has neither helped nor hurt me. The subject flowed into the conversation casually, and it wasn't a dramatic moment or anything. Good luck with your applications!

PS. I hope this message goes through alright...it's my first time here. :) And I absolutely love the "Graemlins"!

Members don't see this ad :)
Tennisboy93 is that you?