The One Who Knocks

5+ Year Member
Nov 14, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
Hey everybody!

This is my first time on the forums, so I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this this type of question, but here goes.

I'm a freshman in college this year, and without much thought, I took Gen Chem 1. I don't plan on taking Orgo 1 directly next semester, but I plan on taking and gap and placing orgo in the fall of sophomore, with orgo 2 in the winter.

My question is: Is there a lot of gen chem 1 material in orgo? I know a lot of people take the chemistry sequence straight without gaps, but will I be okay like this?

Thanks!

cabinbuilder

Urgent Care Physician
10+ Year Member
Nov 21, 2005
Texas
Status
Attending Physician
Not sure why you aren't asking your chem professor this? Organic chem is based upon carbon and the molecules and rules of bonding to carbon. Reactions that make compounds and the reagents that create the reactions. The movement of electrons and how they make bonds. Totally different class.

Nov 13, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
General chemistry lays the foundation for organic chemistry. I know it can be tough but if you work hard in gen chem and get your material straight
(especially stoichiometry, electron configuration, bonding, orbitals and periodic trends), Ochem 1 will go smoothly (this does depend on your drive and work ethic as well).

Pacna

Dyslexics, untie!
Jun 2, 2013
MN
Status
Medical Student
I honestly didn't notice much overlap between gen chem and ochem (why the F*** do people call it orgo??). There is some, but I think you'll be fine to space it out.

I don't know why you would, though, because there are enough pre-med reqs without skipping semesters. Skip now = cram something else in later.

Nov 15, 2012
Indiana
Status
Pre-Medical