Gen Surgery vs Peds + ER fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pookie9000

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry for the long post, there's so many factors! I'm a 3rd year medical student getting ready to submit applications for interview rotations in peds and/or surgery. So far here is what I have:

1)Peds+ Fellowship in ER/NICU/Cardiology

They are a group patients that intrinsically need help and what you do can directly can help their future. I find myself truly invested in their well being. Also I love working in the hospital. What concerns me is that ER/NICU/Cardiology won't be procedural enough to get me through. Peds ER has the very occasional lac that needs stitches, that's sad. Attendings have told me I have a great personality and work ethic for ER, but for some reason when I tell people I want to do peds they just say oh. I'm energized by kids and they respond great to me but outside of that I am focused and motivated to finish the work that needs to be done, so maybe I come off too serious in the work setting?

2) General surgery (So I can still have the occasional teenager).