Nov 25, 2013
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Would Med Schools rather see a lower GPA with a ton of volunteer, clinical, and shadowing hours? or a high GPA with no outside experience?

Also, I am a sophomore in my program. My first couple years of college were rather intense and I have a crappy GPA to show for it. I'm talking >2.5. The last year I have maintained a 3.5+. But my cumulative isn't the best, and I will not be able to get it up to a 3.5+. Will my cumulative GPA keep me from getting accepted into Med School? Is it even worth it to apply?

Lya

5+ Year Member
May 13, 2013
NY
Status
Medical Student
It depends on schools. In general, lots of cookie-cutter volunteer, clinical, and shadowing hours will not compensate for low GPA. Even with unique extracurriculars, some schools would rather see a higher GPA if your MCAT score is not high.

You may apply after your senior year, so that you have 3 years to make up for bad grades during your freshman year. I think it is worthwhile to apply. Find the balance among your academics and extracurriculars, and study hard for your MCAT.

NeuroNYC

MS-I
Apr 5, 2012
Milwaukee
Status
Medical Student
A strong MCAT can make up for weak (but not too weak) grades. Also, you can always do grade replacement and go DO.

VictorAlpha

7+ Year Member
Oct 15, 2011
Midwest
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Obviously you want to do well on everything. But I would think that clinical experience would give you a comparative advantage. Think about it this way...they will see tons of people with awesome scores and grades but a great EC resume will not be shown by everyone. So if you build an insane EC resume with clinical volunteering, clinical employment and research (and for a significant amount of time); I would tend to think that would go a long way. That being said you can't completely trade one for the other.