General surgery and race against time

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shahzeb

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score

Hi.I am an international medical graduate.I scored an 87 in step 1 and will be taking step 2 in november this year.I wanna make it to the 2003 match and wanna get a position in any general surgery residency.
Hypothetically speaking if I get an 87 in step 2 aswell then do you think I have a chance of getting in general surgery any where in America.
Scince being an international medical graduate I must only apply through ERAS.I just dont know how to fill in the choices of residency programmes in my application.SHall I chose just surgery programmes or is it always safer to chose some less competitive residencies too like pathology and anesthesia.I dont wanna lose the money I am paying for ERAS and end up withput getting any thing.How many residency programmes are advisable to be chosen?Where to get the list of all the residency programmes?How soon should I apply?
One most important question.Do I have to make all my choices of residency programmes at one time or can I keep on adding later?Can I change the choices and replace for example a surgery residency programme with a family medicine residency programme?
I will greatly appreciate if some one could awnser all my questions.

Members don't see this ad.

There's a lot of questions here but I'll attempt to answer some of them.

Can you get a spot in surgery? Yes
Can you get a categorical spot? Very possibly

There are ~400 preliminary surgery positions that go unfilled each year so these positions are relatively easy to get. You could always match a prelim spot and then attempt to obtain a PGY-2 spot the next year.

There are ~40 Categorical spots that go unfilled in the match (at least for the last 2 years). You could possibly obtain one of these spots.