general surgery externships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

winterblue3

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year medical student, currently applying for general surgery externships. I know that I should apply for externships at places where I would like to go for residency. But I'm having trouble picking places and was wondering if anyone can help me out.

I'm considering doing the general surgery residency and then vascular surgery fellowship route. I would like to do my residency in a large city, but I don't want to be in a very malignant program (especially when I am just an average student).

Any suggestion for program choices would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

There are MANY factors to consider when looking for a residency program:

*Urban vs. suburban vs. rural location
*State? City?
*Academic vs. affiliated vs. community
*Presence of fellows?
*Research opporunities?
*Size of program
*Salary (important to some people)
*Presence of Vascular fellowship
*Associated hospitals - children's, VA, county, private?

Etc.

As Blade notes, there are so many factors, some of which are important to you but may not be to others, that its practically impossible for us to advise you on where you should do your electives and potentially residency.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a 3rd year medical student, currently applying for general surgery externships. I know that I should apply for externships at places where I would like to go for residency. But I'm having trouble picking places and was wondering if anyone can help me out.

I'm considering doing the general surgery residency and then vascular surgery fellowship route. I would like to do my residency in a large city, but I don't want to be in a very malignant program (especially when I am just an average student).

Any suggestion for program choices would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!