General Surgery Residency - Cutoff for Board Scores?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KrisKrossJump

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Thanks for reading. I'm a fourth year medical student, applying for a general surgery residency. I'm coming from a state medical school - top 50 for research, though nowhere near the reputation of the typical powerhouses.

Just wondering whether my Step 1 score is going to keep me from matching. I received a 212, which is far closer to the average score of unmatched applicants for general surgery (207) than for those who matched (224).

My grades are fine - I fall in the middle/top third of the class of 150 (high sats and honors in everything), and have never failed anything, but am certainly far from AOA.

I have a "non-traditional" background - an undergraduate and graduate degree from two Ivies, with several years of research/work experience prior to med school - which I know is viewed favorably at some programs, but as a liability in others. I'll have strong letters from nationally-recognized surgeons (thanks to away rotations at some top programs that I know are far beyond my reach), and great extra-curriculars, but I know that none of that can erase the less than stellar 212 Step 1.

Should I consider forgoing academic programs entirely? Aside from applying to 200+ programs because I have NO clue as to the screening process at individual centers, how can I get a gauge as to where I stand?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi all,

Thanks for reading. I'm a fourth year medical student, applying for a general surgery residency. I'm coming from a state medical school - top 50 for research, though nowhere near the reputation of the typical powerhouses.