geographic prejudices in EM and away rotations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ExistentialistPhilosopher

10+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time in an eternity, posting on SDN. Wow. How time flies.

Anyway, I'm a rising fourth-year, and I'm sure I want to do EM. I've scheduled an away EM rotation for July and my home rotation for August. The downside? Both are in NYC (where my med school is), and although I'd be happy to stay in NYC, I'm also open to any location on the Eastern seaboard and some areas of the Midwest.

My question is, should I replace my currently scheduled away rotation in NYC with a rotation somewhere "different" to show residencies that I'm not limiting my options to NYC? I've been told that EM residencies often consider whether an applicant is likely to attend when interviewing/ranking, and I don't want to put myself at a disadvantage at non-NYC programs.

My concerns are mainly financial; my debtload is higher than expected (my fault, not my school's), and I'm loathe to consider airline tickets and the cost of rent in another location. :scared:

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

My concerns are mainly financial; my debtload is higher than expected (my fault, not my school's), and I'm loathe to consider airline tickets and the cost of rent in another location.

I'll leave it to others to answer the away question. But if you're not willing/able to spend the money to fly out to another program for 2-4 weeks for an away and an SLOR, will you be willing to spend the money to fly to 5-10 places during interview season?

If not, don't bother leaving the area.