Nafis64

5+ Year Member
May 20, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
So I applied this cycle and received 3 interviews in the cycle and waiting to hear back for an acceptance (keeping fingers crossed). Already wait listed at one. I am really hoping on getting an acceptance this cycle, but if not then my backup plan is to apply SMPs which I got into at tufts and Georgetown, and MPH schools (only applied to Johns hopkins and got in). If worst comes to worst I need to reserve my seat at either Gtown or JHU for next year asap. Now here are the specifics: my gpa and mcat probably were holding me back because I applied broadly to MD schools. GPA ~3.45, and science is lower. MCAT is low 30s. but I am on an upward trend GPA and did a postbac last year raising it.

I am super excited and happy to get into Johns Hopkins for an MPH because it is such an awesome school (#1 ranked) and I've been working in public health since I graduated for 2 years. Now, I envision myself getting an MPH during my med school career, and it would fit in my overall application very well. I would really want to go there, but med is school is my main goal and I heard that an MPH might not help as much as post-bac work or an SMP. People generally say it is an extracurricular and not anything substantial. Yet, i feel an MPH which is the best school for public health would be very good. And at the same time, i feel that paying so much money for an SMP which is essentially a worthless degree on its own is not worth it.

I would also hope to get a couple pubs before applying from where i work, and some abstracts that would also help.

I want to apply this summer and not wait around for another year and both options are one year which is good. What do you guys think?

drizzt3117

chick magnet
10+ Year Member
Oct 29, 2006
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I'd do the mph, with your grades/mcat you don't need a smp.

halekulani

10+ Year Member
Jul 2, 2006
Status
Medical Student
georgetown smp