Georgetown vs UMiami Miller

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ruberscoobix

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am so lucky to have gotten accepted to these two incredible schools. But I have NO IDEA what to do, guys. No idea. Background: I went to college in Boston and have been living here since I graduated 2016. I completed an SMP (and so I'm about 100k in debt already....lol). My family lives in NY and my mother's health isn't great. Will be moving with my SO. I have a strong interest in pediatrics (hospital-based), possibly OBGYN, and urban medicine. What would you do if you were me? Thank you so much for your help!

Georgetown
PROS
-More "prestigious" school/best name recognition--this may matter more now with Step 1 change
-I loooved DC when I visited for my interview
-Jesuit (like my undergrad, so it feels familiar in a good way)
-GT is my "dream school" (has been the school I've been most excited about, but that shouldn't weigh too heavily)
-Has a Literature academic track--I love reading/writing and want to incorporate it into my career
-Kinda love the idea of being in DC for the 2020 election
-Slight adventure (moving out of the northeast, but staying reasonably close)
-Weather slightly better than Boston
-Good research
-According to students, good work/life balance
-Will probably be able to live close to campus
-Celebrates non-trad applicants like myself

CONS
-O m g it is expensive! And no scholarship opportunities. And I'm already 100k in debt.
-Preppy vibes (kill me)
-Cost of living is also expensive
-Don't really know anybody in DC
-Students seemed decently frustrated with the school (but I also interviewed during their finals week)
-Looks like nowhere near enough study spaces on campus

University of Miami Miller
PROS
- ~15K Cheaper than GT and Tufts and I might actually have a shot at some sort of scholarship (tbd...)
-Slightly cheaper cost of living than DC