German to UK Medical School Transfer or Exchange Possible?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slight365

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I had a question come up recently that I was interested in, as I'm a UK citizen, but studying in Germany (only lived in the UK when I was a baby).

If I want to transfer, or do a semester abroad, how possible is it, and how similar do the systems go? I understand the tuition difference in the UK, though I'll get the EU rate, as I'm a legal resident, and was wondering about a semester exchange after my Praktikum (the exams at the end of the second year), or out of curiosity, the potential for a transfer (of course, after the Praktikum exams are done).

It's mostly out of curiosity, as I'm so far satisfied with the support and education quality here, but sometimes, a semester abroad (especially in my own language!) might be good for perspective and to reduce burn out.

Members don't see this ad.

I had a question come up recently that I was interested in, as I'm a UK citizen, but studying in Germany (only lived in the UK when I was a baby).

If I want to transfer, or do a semester abroad, how possible is it, and how similar do the systems go? I understand the tuition difference in the UK, though I'll get the EU rate, as I'm a legal resident, and was wondering about a semester exchange after my Praktikum (the exams at the end of the second year), or out of curiosity, the potential for a transfer (of course, after the Praktikum exams are done).

It's mostly out of curiosity, as I'm so far satisfied with the support and education quality here, but sometimes, a semester abroad (especially in my own language!) might be good for perspective and to reduce burn out.