Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

get a full time pharmacy tech/clerk job for a semester?

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by winwinwong, May 15, 2008.

1. winwinwong

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    Hi all you smart people out there.

I am currently a rising junior chemistry student, and I am thinking about taking a semester off ( personal problems, and small liberal art school environment is really killing me). I am considering maybe going to Pharmacy school after my undergraduate ( if I can actually get in), so for my semester off, i was wondering if I can work as a pharmacy technician for just one semester. I read some earlier posts saying that mangers wouldn't want to hire someone who's going to leave in 6 months... so it is not even realistic for me to try to get licensed and work as a tech for that one semester off?

Also, does anyone know what the policy for a pharmacy tech in the state of MASS? Do I have to be certified? I know walgreens does paid training for people, but again, i am only taking a semester off. Although my major advisor did tell me that there's nothing wrong with taking an entire year off...so potentially i could have a whole year off...

I am just really confused, any help is welcomed!! THANKS!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. mrblah

2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    Do what you want to do, as long as you can clear your head so you can finish your educational goals.

I took a few years off from school (not saying you should do that). As for becoming a tech and any job you will ever apply for, you never say you are only going to be their temporarily, unless the job you are going for is a temp job.

Work at walgreens as a clerk or whatever, become a tech, and when school starts either quit or cut back hours.

I have no idea what is needed to become a tech in MASS, so no comment.

4. YiYaoYue

2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy