Getting a PhD in environmental chemistry and now want to attend dental school...

kamandsam

10+ Year Member
Nov 17, 2008
California
Status (Visible)
  1. Fellow [Any Field]
Im currently a second year PhD student in environmental chemistry. Unfortunately my idealistic and wrong perception of a professor's job duties has quickly changed as I have realized they work way too much. My brother is a 3rd year dental student and loves it. Im now realistically considering a track change. Anyone have experience with this? Any idea about how a dental school would view an applicant that changed tracks from a Phd to a DDS?

Thank you for your help.

DrReo

"Thread Necromancer"
10+ Year Member
Jun 29, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Academic Administration
Im currently a second year PhD student in environmental chemistry. Unfortunately my idealistic and wrong perception of a professor's job duties has quickly changed as I have realized they work way too much. My brother is a 3rd year dental student and loves it. Im now realistically considering a track change. Anyone have experience with this? Any idea about how a dental school would view an applicant that changed tracks from a Phd to a DDS?

Thank you for your help.

Can you apply for your master's degree or does the school only grant PhD for your enviromental chemistry degree? I know a fellow who will be completing his PhD and applying this year. However, just because they work "too" much and dentists done, per se, you should base that on your decision.

gogobruin

10+ Year Member
Mar 2, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental