Getting back after a dismissal

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chicagoan

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I really need some help with a big issue Im facing. I was dismissed during my undergrad for misconduct and had to spend 2 terms out of the university.
I returned back and graduated with a bachelors.

I plan on applying to medschools however, I have a low GPA (3.08). To circumvent this problem, Im currently pursuing a second bachelors at another university and should be done by 2008. Currently I have a 3.65 and have three more semesters to go.

Im studying for the MCAT and will be taking it in September.

My questions are :

1) Do I still have a chance for medschool?
2) How do medschools regard undergrads with dismissal on record?
3) I plan on entering 2008. Do you think I should apply for 2008 or apply for 2009 ?
4) How does AMCAS calculate GPAs from two schools ?

Members don't see this ad.

1. Just keep working hard for the remainder of your undergrad, and maintain a good GPA...and apply very broadly and i'm sure you will get in somewhere. remember that they like those trends. Oh and kick the MCAT's ass too that will be the deal breaker.

2. I am not sure on that one

3. I think you might want to wait for 2009, since you will have a higher (hopefully) GPA by then, and also you need to apply earlier. But hey you might as well if you want to put in the effort

4. I believe they will just average all of your grades together.

Good luck

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi All,

My questions are :

3) I plan on entering 2008. Do you think I should apply for 2008 or apply for 2009 ?

1. Maybe, I really dont know. How long ago was the dismissal. If it was like...2 years ago, ouch. If it was a decade ago, not quite as bad. Still bad.
2. Thats bad news bears - get ready to explain this issue everywhere. dont have an excuse - own up to it and move on.