Getting Into A Canadian Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

seeking1

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, first time posting here, really blown away by the community. :D

Since you can't tell from the title, I'm a university student going from first to second year in Canada and I have desired to be in med school since I was young. I luckily have only had a single sorta-slack semester, but I don't want it to happen again.

At the same time, I'm looking for ways to improve myself, get to know more about getting in and finding ways to enjoy doing so. Really, any positive suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Or even discussion on the difficulties of the process, I just want to start talking honestly with people who have an idea what this is like.

Members don't see this ad.

About 20% of Canadian applicants get in at a Canadian school per year. It's tough. Tips:

1. Study. A lot.
2. When you're not studying, do EC, volunteer at a hospital, research. Start building your life experiences so you have something to talk about.
3. When you've done both, have fun.

That should be your order.

At the end of second year, start getting ready to write your MCAT. This test blows. You will have a ****ty time. If you're in Ontario, expect to need to break the 80th percentile or so.

In regards to research, are we just talking research into the applications/med schools altogether, or doing actual research with professors and researchers? I have spoken with quite a few people on the latter topic and have heard mixed reviews on the outcomes...

Members don't see this ad :)
hi Seeking 1,

First and foremost i would like to welcome youto the SDN community; you will find a great load of resources and help amongst other things on this website, so i hope you have a great experience here...here are my two cents on the process.

ACADEMICS