Sep 2, 2014
Hey Guys!!!
I'm a student who is about to finish a degree in communication disorders and hearing sciences in India (basically I'm speech language pathologist and a audiologist), and as I'm gonna reside in US from this November and also I'm so deeply, madly and crazily wanna be a doctor I need someone to help through the process of getting into med school.
First I wanna know, can I just do MCAT and get into a med school or do I need to do some degree to get into one? Can someone please help me as where to start??? Please it would be a great help!!!
Cheers,
Thanks!!! :):):)

Catalystik

The Gimlet Eye
10+ Year Member
Sep 4, 2006
The Other Side of the Portal
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Hey Guys!!!
I'm a student who is about to finish a degree in communication disorders and hearing sciences in India (basically I'm speech language pathologist and a audiologist), and as I'm gonna reside in US from this November and also I'm so deeply, madly and crazily wanna be a doctor I need someone to help through the process of getting into med school.
First I wanna know, can I just do MCAT and get into a med school or do I need to do some degree to get into one? Can someone please help me as where to start??? Please it would be a great help!!!
Cheers,
Thanks!!! :):):)
If you want to get into a USA med school:

AMCAS, the application system for most MD schools (except for Texas public schools), does not accept foreign transcripts. If MD is your goal, you'd need to complete 60-90 semester hours of college coursework in the US or Canada prior to applying, including all prerequisites. I can only think of one med school where you'd need to get another bachelors degree if you already have one.

DO schools using the AACOMAS application do accept foreign transcripts. There is another SDN forum called Pre-Medical Osteopathic where you can direct further questions.

Reactions: 1 user

itsthat1guy

Not that other guy
Oct 25, 2012
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical