Getting into PA school with low GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

warz2k4

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm looking for some constructive feedback on what I should do?

I have a prereq GPA for PA school of about a 3.4
And my overall GPA hopefully graduating with a 3.0 in May 2012

I currently volunteer at a hospital and hopefully racking up about 150 hrs by the end of this summer
I also met a PA there that would let me shadow them in the emergency room

I was wondering what are the chances of me getting into PA school?
I'm majoring in Medical Technology(Clinical Lab Science) which is why some of those grades are killing my overall GPA( I received 3 C's while being in the program) I still have 1 more year in the program.

I plan to apply to CASPA this summer.

Any recommendations on what to do? Is my GPA too low? What do they look at?

Members don't see this ad.

i got a BS in biology, then did a year long program to get the BS in med tech from a state university. i didnt think it was that hard. im surprised you are getting C's. i think i recognize you from the PA forums.

i woudnt apply this year, and i dont usually say that. the reason why is my stats were better and i had a few years of good hce in med teching, and it was still difficult to get interviews. your grades arent anything fancy, and if you cant pull A's in med tech, you need to figure out how to manage it. PA school will probably be way harder. graduate from the program and put in at least a year in a small hospital... you will be ready then. most of the people that can get into PA school right after undergrad have high gpas, and apply to programs that like that. you dont have experience to offer the experience schools, and dont have grades to offer the grades schools. i think you will get in eventually, but i wouldnt waste time right now focusing on becoming a PA. you arent even a med tech yet.