Mar 27, 2010
Status
Non-Student
I would really appreciate anyone's insight. I am 36 and finally deciding to go back to school to pursue a PsyD. I have an MA from Stanford in a completely unrelated field (Chinese studies) and no prior coursework in psychology. I have high GPAs, and what I think qualifies as a very strong professional background in a related field. For the past 6 years, I worked as a criminal investigator in the public defender system, which gave me almost daily experience with issues of trauma, abuse, addiction, mental illness, etc. etc. This is how I got interested in going in studying psychology, but I am shooting for a PsyD rather than MFT to give myself a deeper grounding in the field as well as greater options afterwards.

Do I have a snowball's chance in hell of getting in? The main schools I've seen that seem possible are the Wright Institute, GSPP University of Denver, George Washington and JFK. Their prereqs are few enough that I can take online courses this year while putting in apps.

Am I being overly confident thinking I can get in? I'm also worried that these may not necessarily be the best programs...I'm not happy about the focus on psychodynamics to the exclusion of other models that I've heard about at GWU and Wright, but also need to apply places I may qualify for.

Any suggestions/advice would be deeply appreciated.

futureapppsy2

Assistant professor
Gold Donor
10+ Year Member
Dec 25, 2008
Almost every program is going to have pre-reqs, and most programs (I'm guessing) probably aren't going to look favorable on someone who's a) taken all their psych classes online, and b) Is still taking most of them. Also, it's probably unwise to apply to schools (especially ones where you have major qualms about the theoretical orientation) just because you think you can get in. Schools look for "fit," and if you can't demonstrate that, the process probably won't go well, and you may end up aty a program you really don't like.