getting letters of rec

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ceelo

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm just wondering if anyone got letters of rec from science profs they didn't know too well. I having two profs that I am asking right now. They don't know me but I took their classes. Please share your experiences on how receptive professors were when you asked them for LORs.

Members don't see this ad.

I can give you two experiences asking for letters of recommendation from professors that did not know me well. I have been out of school for a while so I hadn't had a class from either of these professors since 1994. One professor graciously accepted and then asked me to sit and talk about what I had done since I graduated and what my motivations towards medicine were. The other graciously said they did not feel comfortable writing me a letter since they weren't even in the same position and they only vaguely remembered me from so long ago. Neither experience was uncomfortable so just ask and you shall see what happens.

Yeah, I had to ask two profs who didn't know me well. I had better reqs, but some schools specifically ask for letters from profs that "taught you formally", ie not profs you TA's for, did research with, etc.

What I did was go over in my mind what profs might actually remember me from their huge classes. Did we ever chat in the halls? Maybe they stopped by the lab and we chatted there? you get the idea. Anyhoo, I sent out nice formal emails to the profs that made "the cut", explaining who I was and asking for an appointment so we could sit down and talk. I also described myself briefly, so hopefully they could place a face with my name! Much to my suprise, every prof I contacted responded promptly, and agreed to meet with me right away (and most said they knew exactly who I was! man, some of these guys/girls have AWESOME memories...)