getting trained out of state where you want to practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vitamin H

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm a medical student on the interview trail and I'm trying to find ways of comparing programs. Though I want to eventually practice in CA, I've interviewed at a couple of OOS programs that I think are stronger then some of my CA programs. After I interview, I update my rank list and I find myself ranking OOS programs that are stronger then the CA programs I've interviewed lower on the list because I'm assuming it would be more difficult for me to be trained in an OOS program.

Given the forensic aspects inherent in psychiatry, is there a big drawback to being trained outside of the state you want to practice in? Or does good training cross state lines?

thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Should be a simple, but lengthy, process of applying for licensure in whatever state you want. Or are you asking if academic programs won't look as favorably upon a candidate trained out of state? I don't think that matters much either unless you were in a stinker of a program- or if you're applying for a job in an academic center and trained primarily in a community based program, but even think I don't think it'd appreciably affect your competitiveness.

Members don't see this ad :)
It should not be a disadvantage. I changed states back in the day, and having a good social worker at my side took care of learning the differences.
I've had residents graduate from our program and find jobs elsewhere (including CA) and this was never an issue in the hiring decisions.

I agree with OldPsychDoc and wolfvgang, learning the new laws about commitment, duty to warn, etc. is not very hard. I also switched states after training.