Getting your PhD from your undergraduate school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

preapoptosis

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have heard that it is wrong to get your PhD from the same school that you got your BA/BGS/BSc from. Is this true? What are your opinions?

Members don't see this ad.

Good question. When I was an undergrad, I thought it would be nice to get my PhD from the same school since it was close to my family and friends. I approached some professors about my idea and they informed me that it might be better to go somewhere else for my MA/PhD to obtain a diferent perspective on things. I didn't like that answer but I listened and applied to 2 out of state MA programs.

Looking back (1.5 years later), I couldn't be happier. I've seen a ton of new places, met lots of new people, and have somewhat of a different perspective on "psychology." I realized that my undergrad program was very psychoynamic and my MA program is behavioral. I didn't get much of the behavioral perspective from undergrad so I didn't know much about it.

Although, I have known some people who obtained their BA, MA, and PhD from the same institution. So it's not totally taboo, just not as common as going away for your MA/PhD.

Not taboo, but frowned upon. Professors want you to choose the best post bacc program available dependent on subject, most often found elsewhere. Now, if it turns out that the best post bacc program for you is at your undergrad school, everyone will know it, and there is no downside.

It sorta like the idea (suggested in the 1950's through the 1980's) that you take residency at another program than that of where you received your medical degree.

Members don't see this ad :)