Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Give it to me straight Doctor.

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by scottyJ, Mar 3, 2007.

1. scottyJ

2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    Ok, I am applying to dental schools June 1st 2007, the first day admissions open, but I am having doubts. My doubts are:

1. I have a 3.18 GPA in Biochemistry and Molecular Bio and a minor in Music From UC Davis. I am not certain my science GPA but it is probably around 3.0. I know this is a low GPA but can I still get in somewhere? Does nutrition, food science, and astronomy count for science GPA? Does it matter that I majored in biochem? Damn I should have been an NPB major.

2. I have failed two classes. Neither of them are the "required classes for dental schools" but I am worried that they will just throw my application out seeing some Fs. Stupid viticulture and biochem.

Those are my two main things that are causing me grief. I am not worried about my DAT; I am hoping to "get it dirty" in a month from now, like im going to get an AA of 25 or 99% fo sho; trust me, all I have been doing for the last 4 months is studying, Kaplan, scholorware, examcrackers, you name it. I also have shadowed 3 dentists and they are writing me good letters. Also I did a college sport for two years then had two jobs working in labs for the rest of the time at school. I have two science profs, a music prof, and my supervisors writing me letters. Am I going to get into dental school? Do I have a chance? Oh, I'm white, and I come from professional parents, if that matters. Give it to me straight.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. zebrafish

2+ Year Member

Dental Student