Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Give it to me straight: my chances?

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by JMDC2011, Dec 3, 2008.

1. JMDC2011

JMDC2011 MDhopefully?
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I am currently a sophomore finishing up me first semester of course work this year...my first year of school, I struggled trying to balance collegiate football and a pre-med curriculum. after one year of course work at miami university, my cumulative gpa was a 2.7... this was due to the fact that even though my grades were A A A A B B B B C....and sad but true, an F in general chem II. My otherwise decent gpa took a shot to the balls with that F. I thought I could beat the system and pull out with a C instead of taking the W for withdrawal. But things didn't turn out the way I planned, so it really hurt me. Anyway, you'd think I would learn from my mistakes and get rid of the things that were weighing me down. I ended up transferring to john carroll university after I had gotten cut from the miami (division 1) football team. I still had the enthusiasm to play even though I knew grades should come first. After a semester here, and another semester of mediocre grades ( A A A A B C, the C coming in calculus, another important measuring stick to see who is med school qualified), I decided that paying the high private school tuition and giving up football was not something that benefited my family. The only reason I came here was to play ball, but I decided after this semester to give up playing in order to focus completely on making me a competitive medical school applicant. I have enrolled at the ohio state university due to its low cost, more opportunities, and great pre med prep program. This is the final stop in this long journey of mine.