1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Given this situation, will I be a good medical school applicant?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by twentyquestions, Aug 6, 2011.

1. twentyquestions

Non-Student
    I'm sorry, I tried posting this in the questions section, but for some reason it would not let me. I am new to the site, so I apologize in advance if I'm doing something wrong.

I graduated this June of 2011 from UC Davis with a 3.3 GPA and my major was in Neurobio, Physiology, and Behavior (a kind of integrative bio major). I have taken the MCAT twice and got 29 both times. I have worked in the wet lab for a few summers, absolutely hated it, and even then I was only a lowly assistant with the research around me too advanced for me to even understand back then. I have practically no experience working with patients. A primary concern of mine is that at the moment, I am worried if medicine is even my passion, since I feel l lack the knowledge that comes from experience to make a good decision on whether I want to be a doctor. I hope I'm not committing premed blasphemy by saying that, I am only trying to be honest with myself. Right now, I am thinking about taking EMT classes this fall and working as an EMT-B for two years, while hopefully also volunteering at some clinics. My question is, by the time I apply in possibly 2013, will I be able to get in to medical school, assuming I do not retake the MCAT, or even if I do? Any help is tremendously appreciated!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. JazzyJMD

Resident [Any Field]