Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

GMOs ever get frustrated with MSCs?

Discussion in 'Military Medicine' started by navdoc47, Apr 27, 2007.

1. navdoc47

Attending Physician
    Ok I'm a GMO w/the Marines. My med planner wants me to take responsibility to ensure all the medical supplies are restocked. This seems inappropriate since I have no managerial control over the corpsmen, and it seems that ensuring inventories is an admin/management responsibility appropriate for an MSC. Am I wrong to assume I shouldn't take responsibility for such tasks? Seems to me a senior enlisted person should assume the role and report to the MSC. The only reason I should be involved is, as a doctor, i'm more familiar with what equipment/supplies is appropriate for field medicine. But then, if i were in a hospital or clinic, would i care whether we have enough IV lines, needles, stocked pharmacy??? (obviously not).

Anyone else have similar frustrations with MSCs? (medical service corps - the folks with MHAs or MBAs who are in charge administratively).

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. usnavdoc

usnavdoc Senior Member

Attending Physician

I assume you are with group? Not sure of your particular assignment or experience but I spent 4 years with division and medical logistics/supply were one of the many jobs outside of practicing medicine that I was expected to handle.

4. DiveMD

DiveMD Giggity giggity!!!
    Physician

Attending Physician
    I work in a clinic and trust me; I do a whole bunch of stuff that is trivial or plainly inappropriate for my level of training. It's just the Navy way...

5. SquidDoc

SquidDoc Member

Resident [Any Field]