Going back for a PhD in clinical/counseling psych with an unusual background

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ginger112

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a PhD in rehabilitation counseling but am finding that I'm in the wrong field for what I want to do, which is clinical/counseling psychology, and there's no real way for me to make that pivot without a clinical/counseling psych PhD. Rehabilitation counseling departments that do research--especially psych-like research--almost exclusively hire psychology PhDs (the rare non-psych hires are people with dual clinical mental health counseling /rehab counseling dual PhDs, which I'm also not). The rehab counseling departments that hire faculty with rehab counseling PhDs almost exclusively hire people with traditional, vocational rehab backgrounds and do little research, which also isn't me. This schism is very deep, and there appears to be no way to jump from the latter to the former. Honestly, though, clinical/counseling psych is a much better fit for what I want to do and is where most of collaborators are. (Respecialization programs, sadly, aren't an option, as my PhD isn't in "psychology"). The question I'm running into is how to frame my somewhat unusual background....

Academic: BA in psych (3.75-ish GPA), MA in school psych (3.75-ish GPA), PhD in rehab counseling/special education (4.0 GPA), currently in the first year of a two year postdoc at an R1 (90% research, 10% clinical)

Research:
-Most of my research is on trauma, depression, and suicide, with a focus on people with disabilities. During my masters, I did some ABA/autism-focused research and have about seven publications from that.