Going back to college for Pre-Med!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

parkwaydrivefan

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in business Administration a year ago. The degree hasn't proven to make me very marketable, and after much thought, I've decided I want to become a Doctor.

My concern: Going back to college, and completing the Medical School requirements, (In my case Physics, Chemistry, and O-Chem) without obtaining a second degree will leave a bad impression on me.

What do you all recommend? Knock out the Med-School requirements without getting a degree, or knock out the med-school requirements AND graduate with a second bachelor's.

Members don't see this ad.

Just complete the minimum requirements. A biology degree is no more marketable than your business degree.

Reactions: 6 users
Members don't see this ad :)
If anything, a bio degree makes you less marketable. During my first interview, we went around the room and said our homestate/major. I was the only non-bio related major there.

Do not get another degree just to improve how marketable you are. As someone with a bio degree, I can assure you that the 4 years of education I received was not worth the $14/hr lab jobs I was being offered after graduation.

Reactions: 1 user
Have you considered a career-changer postbacc? You wouldn't have to get a full degree.

I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in business Administration a year ago. The degree hasn't proven to make me very marketable, and after much thought, I've decided I want to become a Doctor.
So you want to become a doctor for money?

So you want to become a doctor for money?

Money is a very small part of it. But I'm not money obsessed. Give me a decent house,a collection of books, a functional car, friends, family, and internet, and I'd be happy.