Going back to medicine after giving up

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

agentawesome

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated a year ago from college, with 2 Bachelor of Science degrees: in Biology (with a concentration in Neuroscience) and in Psychology. I also minored in Chemistry. My GPA wasn't awful, but it wasn't the best - cGPA was 3.365 and sGPA was 3.075. I took the MCAT twice about 2 years ago, and got a 23 the first time, and 28 six months later. At some point between taking the MCAT and graduation, I got overwhelmed and gave up on medical school. But now I'm realizing, becoming a doctor is what I really want to do with my life.

For the last 9 months, I've been working as a mental health technician in a locked acute psych unit at a hospital. I keep my patients safe (from themselves and their peers), monitor vitals, draw blood, do minor wound care, chart, run group therapy - basically, whatever the Drs and Charge RNs need done, I do it.

Being at the hospital everyday (almost) for the last 9 months has reminded me why I had wanted to go into medicine in the first place. It's amazing, the things doctors get to do and the people they get to help. I've sat in on a few surgeries, accompanied some of my patients to MRIs, x-rays, CT scans, and followed the psychiatrists as well as some of the medical doctors around when they do their rounds and I'm constantly in awe of everything I see.

Anyways, now I'm trying to get back into preparing to apply for medical school. I know I need to really work on my MCAT score, so I've enrolled in a Kaplan prep course that's starting in a couple of weeks, and I plan on taking the exam in April. I was hoping to apply to medical school next summer, in 2012.