Going back to the VA system later?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coloradocutter

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an intern at a VA/AMC consortium. I LOVE my internship, and surprisingly, I really love the VA. I was offered a clinical assistant faculty position that offers me the opportunity to do treatment, assessment, supervise graduate students, do research and policy work, and administration. It pays ALOT more than a VA postdoc, and is better for my family overall. I think that I would ultimately like to go back to the VA if not full time, at least part time. While I think that this faculty position is better for me, I wonder if anyone has experiences going back to the VA after internship. My sense is that it is easier to do after an internship, than without one. Just looking for some reassurance that I can go back. Thanks for any thoughts!

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently an intern at a VA/AMC consortium. I LOVE my internship, and surprisingly, I really love the VA. I was offered a clinical assistant faculty position that offers me the opportunity to do treatment, assessment, supervise graduate students, do research and policy work, and administration. It pays ALOT more than a VA postdoc, and is better for my family overall. I think that I would ultimately like to go back to the VA if not full time, at least part time. While I think that this faculty position is better for me, I wonder if anyone has experiences going back to the VA after internship. My sense is that it is easier to do after an internship, than without one. Just looking for some reassurance that I can go back. Thanks for any thoughts!