going from a university to a cc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sweetmemories

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a third year student at a university; however, i started my bio major a year late because i was undecided at first. I still have a lot of pre-pharm courses that i need to take and I really want to get into pharmacy school, but my gpa is low...2.7 and it's so hard to raise it up at a university. My uncle-in-law advised me to withdraw from the university and take courses at a community college to raise up my gpa. I heard that pharmacy school looks more at ur gpa...i don't know what to do at this moment. can somebody please give me some advice and help me out?

Members don't see this ad.

While all schools are different, I would not assume that transferring to a community college translates into easier courses. Some of the most difficult courses I've taken have been through a community college (and some of the easiest at a university).

The main reason to go to a community college is cost and (generally) student to teacher ratio.

I would check to see if your school offers academic forgiveness for classes with poor grades. I wouldn't take the course over for a poor grade, unless you feel you didn't learn as much unless you are sure you could receive a substantially higher grade (read an 'A').

sweetmemories said: