Going to School Overseas bad or good

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ucf561boy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
:)I'm new to this board , so bare with me guys , quick question Im thinking of going overseas to attend med school , I have a few friends who did this same exact thing the school is in Africa , the system is different then the states u are not required to have an Undergrad degree to enter med school , right after highschool you apply to college , medical, engineering, law and etc
i was a student at a state university here , I recently left last semester and was thinking of going with this plan and takign friends advice, they came back and all they are required to do is take the board exams and achieve a good score and suprsingly all 4 of my friends did pretty well 85%-95% on step 1 and they took 2 and will wait for residency soon
1 advantage of going to school overseas is age you will get done earlier then here in most cases and secondly its cheaper in comparison to here so you can definitely avoid those student loans
I was a biology major i left in the middle of my second year , everything was going ok untill I hit chem , I left with a 2.6 GPA so I was like screw it. I wanto to start over , your opinions are much appreciated please thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Finish your bachelors degree.

There are a myriad of problems with gonig overseas... here are a few of them:

1. Getting into residency is difficult if not impossible from these "no degree required" schools.

2. The harsh reality is that if you can't perform now, what makes you think that you will magically be able to perform when it comes time to take the boards?

3. If you DON'T pass the boards, you will be stuck with a significant amount of debt, and have no way to pay it back.