Good anatomy resources before Dental School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Toofster

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a nontraditional student with no anatomy courses under my belt. I got accepted into my top school and our first course will be a 7-week anatomy course in the summer. I realize the recommendation of "rest before", but I'm not sure I'll get good rest if I don't prep myself at least a little.

What resources would you recommend to lightly review so I can gain some helpful exposure to hit the ground running in the summer?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a nontraditional student with no anatomy courses under my belt. I got accepted into my top school and our first course will be a 7-week anatomy course in the summer. I realize the recommendation of "rest before", but I'm not sure I'll get good rest if I don't prep myself at least a little.

What resources would you recommend to lightly review so I can gain some helpful exposure to hit the ground running in the summer?
rest before
i describe the amount of info you learn in the first year of dental school as, "drinking from a firehose"

rest before
i describe the amount of info you learn in the first year of dental school as, "drinking from a firehose"
But reviewing a little bit of anatomy prior will at least lessen the pressure a bit, will it not?

I know science is all about exposure, and I'm worried about going in completely blind without any prior review.

Members don't see this ad :)
I used the following for anatomy:

Netter Atlas for gross, and then Netters Head and Neck anatomy for dental. Buy a copy to keep of the head and neck, its a useful book to review every so often.

Aclands anatomy videos - your school likely has a subscription. there are some previews on youtube and stuff.

Rohen's Anatomy Atlas.