1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Good major?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by tbucsum, Dec 5, 2008.

1. tbucsum

Pre-Medical
    I'm a freshman at the University of Michigan and have been thinking lately about possible concentrations that I can pursue in hopes of entering medical school. I am considering Brain, Behavior, and Cognitive Sciences (BBCS). This major is a part of the psychology department here in Michigan.

Does this offer a disadvantage when applying? I have read that a psych major is considered to be the easiest major to obtain. Although this isn't a psych major, does it being part of the psychology department hinder my chances?

BBCS is considered a natural science whereas a psychology major is social science.

Any feedback would help.

Thanks ahead of time.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. aznb0y129

aznb0y129 Oh hamburgers!
    7+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Medical Student
    As long as you do well in your pre-reqs, the major you choose probably won't matter. In fact, having a non-science major will probably distinguish you a bit from the loads of bio and chem majors applying to med school.

Of course, you have to get good grades in anything you choose, but that goes without saying. So if you have interest in humanities classes, take them now before you're bombarded with science in med school. Good luck!

4. Dr Lyss

Dr Lyss Professional Student
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    your major doesn't matter. your performance does. Pick whatever major interests you and do well and you should be fine.