Good Stats, Not So Good School... Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

isomorph

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First post here, just thought I'd see some opinions...

I'm a sophomore at an extremely small liberal arts college (not even sure if it is ranked) and basically no research takes place here. I attended this school because I got a full ride for track and field and academics.

Here's some stats
GPA: 4.0 (science and non science)
Major: Chemistry and mathematics (dual)
Minor: Pre-professional (pre-med requirements)
MCAT: I'll take it next year, but I have taken 3 AAMC tests, which I got 37, 39, and 42 (They got better as I learned more organic chemistry, and physics is my strong point).

Extracurricular activities and research experience

Honors program - numerous community services and one survey research project

Residential advisor (RA) this year, resident director (RD) next year

Chemistry club secretary

Decathlete on the track and field team, around 20 hours of training per week

Computer skills - experienced with programming languages (python, java and C) and Excel

Docent (volunteer teacher) for the Smithsonian Institution last year

SAAC athletics representative

Audited a biochemistry class freshman year

Summer REU in molecular biophysics at Princeton University, did research for 10 weeks

Will be going to the International Institute of Structural Biology in the Czech Republic for 10 weeks of research this summer (through Princeton again)

Calculus lab assistant

General chemistry lab assistant

Math 101 teacher (Yes, students teach math 101 at my college)

1 day of shadowing an orthopaedic (I'll get more)

Calculus tutor

Currently training to be a hospice volunteer, I will get my certificate to volunteer soon

Will be a college marshall next year and my senior year