qw098

zyzzbrah
5+ Year Member
Oct 23, 2011
Status
Medical Student
I am a 4th yr medical student and was asked to review a case report...

Is this normal? Or is it a scam/phishing? Are there any benefits for me?

I received the following e-mail yesterday - no idea how they got my e-mail:

I used "XXXX" to hide personal information.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ms. Ref. No.: XXXX-XXXXXXX
Title: Case Report
Journal of XXXXX

Dear Dr. XXXXXX,

Given your expertise in this area, I would appreciate your comments on the above paper. I have included the abstract of the manuscript below to provide you with an overview.

If you accept this invitation, your comments will be due by Aug 17, 2016. If you are unable to act as a reviewer at this time, I would greatly appreciate your suggestions for alternate reviewers.

To accept this invitation, please click here:

XXXXXXXXXX

To decline this invitation, please click here:

XXXXXXXXXX

Alternatively, to register your response using the Elsevier Editorial System please do the following:

XXXXXXXXXX

I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

As a reviewer you are entitled to complimentary access to Scopus and ScienceDirect for 30 days. Full instructions and details will be provided upon accepting this invitation to review.

Yours sincerely,

XXXXXXXXX, MD
Associate Editor
"Journal Name"

Syncrohnize

PGY-1
7+ Year Member
Dec 28, 2010
Status
Resident [Any Field]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Journal of XXXXX

Dear Dr. XXXXXX,

Given your expertise in this area, I would appreciate your comments on the above paper. I have included the abstract of the manuscript below to provide you with an overview.